Complex interchange, aerial view

About the Midwest Transportation Center | Partner Universities | Advisory Council

About the Midwest Transportation Center

The Midwest Transportation Center (MTC) is one of 10 regional University Transportation Centers sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology (USDOT/OST-R). The MTC is funded by the 2012 federal transportation bill, the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act (MAP-21).

For a brief overview of recent MTC activities, see the latest biannual report. Also see a short slideshow.

Focus Area

The research focus area for the MTC is "State of Good Repair," a key program under MAP-21. The MTC focuses its research on data-driven performance measures of transportation infrastructure, traffic safety, and project construction.

In addition to research, the grant from USDOT/OST-R supports education programs, leadership development, diversity promotion, and outreach efforts in federal region 7.

Back to Top

Partner Universities

The MTC is a consortium of six universities:

Iowa State University is the lead institution, and the MTC is administered through ISU's Institute for Transportation.

Seward County Community College in Liberal, Kansas, is a collaborator (collaborator leader Todd Carter).

Researchers at the partner schools work with their state transportation departments and other agencies to identify transportation projects and programs important to the Midwest and the various states in federal region 7.

Back to Top

Advisory Council

The MTC advisory council provides feedback on the center's activities and input as to research direction and priorities to help ensure that the MTC achieves its vision and strategic goals.

Council members include David Ahlvers, Missouri DOT; Michael Crum, Iowa State University; Gee King, AASHTO; Scott Smith, HNTB Infrastructure (retired); and Paul Trombino III, Iowa DOT and president of AASHTO.

MTC advisory council and center staff/affiliates at the August 2015 council meeting (l to r): Dan Rust, University of Missouri-St. Louis; Ray Mundy, University of Missouri-St. Louis; Ravi Nath, Creighton University; Omar Smadi, Iowa State University; Pingfeng Wang, Wichita State University; Judy Thomas, Iowa State University; Shauna Hallmark, Director of MTC; Tim Morris, Iowa State University; Peter Savoleinen, Iowa State University; Charlie Nemmers, University of Missouri-Columbia; Michael Crum, Iowa State University; Paul Trombino III, Iowa DOT; King Gee, AASHTO; Scott Smith, HNTB Infrastructure (retired); David Ahlvers, Missouri DOT; and Chris Williams, Iowa State University

Back to Top

PI and Partner Resources


Tom Maze seminar sessions continue Friday, 04/25/2018

InTrans hosts Traffic and Safety Focus Group, 02/08/2018

GO! Magazine’s August issue further explores Seven Great Transportation Feats, 08/04/2017

GO! Magazine’s July issue covers Seven Great Transportation Feats, 07/07/2017

Midwest Transportation Center
Shauna Hallmark, Director
2711 S. Loop Dr, Suite 4700
Ames, IA 50010-8664
Phone 515.294.8103
Fax 515.294.0467
Email MTC
Copyright © 2018, Iowa State University. All rights reserved.