## 2022 Traffic & Safety Forum

Wednesday, November 16, 2022 | 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Ames, Iowa | Gateway Hotel and Conference Center

4:30 pm Adjourn



## Agenda

O	
8:00 – 9:00 am	Registration and Continental Breakfast
9:00 – 9:15 am	<b>Welcome</b> Steve Gent, <i>Director</i> , <i>Traffic and Safety Bureau</i> , <i>Iowa DOT</i>
9:15 – 10:15 am	<b>Keynote Presentation: Road Safety—The Forgotten Pandemic</b> Mike Dreznes, <i>Former Senior Vice President, International Road Federation</i>
10:15 – 10:30 am	Break
10:30 am- Noon	<ul> <li>"TAS Talks" - Moderated by Chris Poole, <i>Iowa DOT</i></li> <li>Wejo Based Safety Assessment on Uninterrupted Flow Facilities - Anuj Sharma, <i>Iowa State University</i></li> <li>Raccoon River Valley Trail and Sunrise Drive Crossing System - Molly Long, <i>Foth</i>, &amp; Rudy Koester, <i>City of Waukee</i></li> <li>Developing a Crosswalk Policy - Brian Willham, <i>HR Green</i></li> <li>Advisory Bike Lanes Case Study - Rich Voelker, <i>Snyder &amp; Associates</i></li> <li>School Zone Safety Projects - Leslie Hart, <i>City of Ankeny</i></li> <li>Cumberland Roundabout Study - Pat Byrd, <i>JEO</i></li> </ul>
Noon – 1:00 pm	Lunch (provided)
1:00 – 2:30 pm	<ul> <li>Research Update – Moderated by Jan Laaser-Webb, Iowa DOT         <ul> <li>ADS for Rural America Project – Michelle Reyes, National Advanced Driving Simulator</li> <li>Rear Seat Occupant Belt Use and Motor Vehicle Crash Injury Severity – Michelle Reyes, National Advanced Driving Simulator</li> <li>ICAT and Potential for Crash Reduction – Hossein Naraghi, Iowa DOT</li> <li>Traffic Operations Research – Neal Hawkins, Institute for Transportation</li> <li>Smart Work Zone Presentation – Skylar Knickerbocker, Institute for Transportation</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
2:30 – 2:45 pm	Break
2:45 – 3:30 pm	<b>Technical Presentation: Safe Systems Approach</b> Steve Ratke, <i>Federal Highway Administration</i>
3:30 – 4:30 pm	<ul> <li>Iowa DOT Update</li> <li>New Speed Feedback Sign Program – Steve Gent, Iowa DOT</li> <li>Safety Engineering Update – Jan Laaser-Webb, Iowa DOT</li> <li>Traffic Engineering Update – Chris Poole, Iowa DOT</li> <li>Traffic and Safety Update – Willy Sorenson, Iowa DOT</li> </ul>