Nov 15

2018 Traffic and Safety Forum

Event Details

Ames, Iowa


Gateway Hotel and Conference Center
2100 Green Hills Dr.
Ames, IA 50014


November 15, 2018


Registration begins at 8:00 a.m.

Event Contact
Judy Thomas
InTrans, MTC


The purpose of the 2018 Traffic and Safety Forum is to enable traffic and safety engineering professionals to learn about new and innovative systems and processes, share individual experiences, and collectively address issues of interest. In recent years, representatives have attended from cities, counties, consultants, universities, and the Iowa Department of Transportation.

Tentative Agenda

Thursday, November 15, 2018

TimeEvent Details
8:00 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.

Registration and Breakfast

9:00 a.m. – 9:10 a.m.

Steve Gent, Director, Iowa DOT Office of Traffic and Safety

9:10 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.

Keynote Address: Why do we Drive Distracted even though we Know it is Dangerous?
Paul Atchley, University of South Florida

10:00 a.m. – 11:45 a.m.

TAS Talks - Traffic and Safety Lightning Round

  • Jon Resler, City of Cedar Falls
  • Andy Swisher, HR Green
  • Mark Perington, Snyder & Associates
  • Pat Kueter, Foth
  • Mark Pohlmann, HDR
  • Ryan Davis, McClure Engineering Company
  • Neal Hawkins, Video provided by Dave Ness, City of Dubuque


11:45 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Lunch and Videos (Bike video, Crash Video)

12:45 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Research Update

  • Heavy Truck and Motorcycle Crash Dashboards, Zach Hans, Institute for Transportation, Iowa State University
  • Innovation in Work Zones, Skylar Knickerbocker, Institute for Transportation, Iowa State University
  • Evaluating Signalized Arterial Performance Using Probe Data, Anuj Sharma, Institute for Transportation, Iowa State University
  • An Analysis of Iowa Off-Highway Vehicle Roadway County Ordinances, Dr. Gerene Denning, UIHC Dept. of Emergency Medicine
  • Traffic Safety Research Highlights From the IPRC, Dr. Cara Hamann, UI Injury Prevention Research Center Vehicle Automation and Driver Attention
  • Vehicle Automation and Driver Attention Research, John Gaspar, National Advanced Driving Simulator
2:00 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.


2:15 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Hillary Isebrands, FHWA

3:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Iowa DOT Update

  • Safety Update, Jan Laaser-Webb
  • Traffic Engineering Update, Tim Crouch
  • Traffic and Safety Update, Willy Sorenson
3:30 p.m.


Download a PDF of this agenda