Nov 09
Nov 10

2021 Iowa Better Concrete Conference

Event Details

Ames, Iowa


Scheman Building
1805 Center Drive
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa



November 9, 2021 — November 10, 2021

Event Contact
Denise Wagner
InTrans, CP Tech Center


ACI Iowa Chapter Annual Meeting & Banquet

The Iowa Chapter-ACI is holding its annual meeting at the Gateway Hotel, 2100 Green Hills Dr., Ames on Tuesday evening. Prospective and current members are encouraged to attend. Pre-registration required. There will be a CCEE student poster competition for viewing and voting during the social hour.

Tuesday, November 9, 2021

5:00 p.m.

Social Hour, Gateway Hotel – Meadow Room
Student Poster Competition

6:00 p.m.

Dinner - Meadow Room
Jerod Gross, ACI Past-president

7:00 p.m.

Iowa Chapter – ACI Meeting


Iowa Excellence in Concrete Awards

The luncheon during the Better Concrete Conference will feature the 28th annual Iowa Excellence in Concrete awards presentation by the Iowa Ready Mixed Concrete Association. The Excellence in Concrete awards recognizes individuals and companies who are moving the concrete industry forward with innovative ideas in the use of concrete for residential and commercial construction. Join us in congratulating the winners!

To purchase a ticket for non-conference attendees, please see the registration page.

Conference Sponsors

Iowa Chapter ACI
Iowa Department of Transportation
Iowa Concrete Paving Association
Iowa Ready Mixed Concrete Association
Portland Cement Association
Iowa State University CCEE Department
National Concrete Pavement Technology Center

Better Concrete Conference Agenda

Wednesday, November 10, 2021

7:30 a.m.

Registration, 1st Floor, Scheman Building (map)

Morning Session – Benton Auditorium
8:00 a.m.


8:00 a.m.

Precast Concrete for Turbines, Doug Krause, RUTE Foundation Systems

8:45 a.m.

Des Moines Courthouse, Jordan Stokes, Ryan Companies

9:30 a.m.Break - First Floor Lobby
10:00 a.m.

I74 Bridge, Griffin Hahn, Hahn Ready Mix

10:45 a.m.

I74 Bridge, Curtis Carter, Iowa DOT

11:30 a.m.Lunch & 28th Annual Excellence in Concrete Awards Luncheon, Steve Mallicoat, presiding (Rooms 220-240)

Afternoon Concurrent Sessions

A1 Concurrent Session – Rooms 204-208
12:45 p.m.Portland Limestone Cement (PLC), Nicolas Marks, Continental Cement
1:15 p.m.Alternatives to Fly Ash, John Ward, American Coal Ash Association
1:45 p.m.CarbonCure, Sean Monkman, CarbonCure Technologies
2:15 p.m.Break
A2 Concurrent Session – Rooms 250-252
12:45 p.m.Trade Schools, Russ Horner, Croell, Inc.
1:15 p.m.Pre-Pour Planning, Jordan Stokes, Ryan Companies
1:45 p.m.ABC/UHPC, Philippe Kalmogo, ISU Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
2:15 p.m.Break
B1 Concurrent Session – Rooms 204-208
2:30 p.m.Decorative Concrete Update, Chris Sullivan, Fenix Group
3:00 p.m.ACI 332 Residential Code, James Beatty, Concrete Foundations Association
3:30 p.m.ACI 330 Parking Lots, Steve Mallicoat, IRMCA/ICPA
4:00 p.m.Ice cream and door prize drawing of two $100 gift cards. You must be present to win.
B2 Concurrent Session – Rooms 250-252
2:30 p.m.Non-Steel Reinforcements, Max Porter, Emeritus Faculty - ISU Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
3:00 p.m.SCC Testing / Formwork, Eric Peterson, Webcor Concrete
3:30 p.m.Sealers, John Kevern, University of Missouri - Kansas City
4:00 p.m.Ice cream and door prize drawing of two $100 gift cards. You must be present to win.