InTrans / Sep 18, 2023

CP Tech Center’s Peter Taylor earns College of Engineering award

Peter Taylor, left, and W. Samuel Easterling, right, the James L. and Katherine S. Melsa Dean of Engineering, pose with Taylor’s award at the ceremony

National Concrete Pavement Technology Center (CP Tech Center) Director Peter Taylor recently received recognition from Iowa State University’s College of Engineering for his outreach efforts through the center.

Taylor, who is also a research professor in the Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering, received the Excellence in Extension and Outreach – Faculty award during a ceremony that recognized many College of Engineering faculty and staff members.

“I am very thankful for the recognition—and for the support of everyone who helped me get where I am,” said Taylor.

The award citation notes “Peter has been a tireless advocate for the National Concrete Pavement Tech Center’s mission through extensive travel, relationship building, and his natural ability to bring industry, government and academia together under a common purpose.”

The award recognizes faculty or staff, with a minimum of three years with Iowa State University’s College of Engineering, who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to the college’s extension and/or outreach mission over an extended period of time. This includes testimony from peers and clients.

In addition to Taylor’s award, the College of Engineering also granted several Institute for Transportation (InTrans) staff and affiliates new named faculty positions as follows:

  • Alice Alipour, Bridge Engineering Center (BEC) structure and infrastructure engineer – Thomas M. Murray Family Faculty Fellowship
  • Roy Sturgill, Construction Management and Technology (CMAT) Program construction engineer – Building a World of Difference Faculty Fellowship in Engineering
  • Jeramy Ashlock, InTrans faculty affiliate – James M. Hoover Chair in Geotechnical Engineering
  • Cassandra Rutherford, InTrans faculty affiliate – Richard L. Handy Professorship

To see the full list of Iowa State’s College of Engineering faculty recognized this fall, see the college’s summary of the award winners.