InTrans / Mar 29, 2022

PROSPER’s Ceylan named ASCE Distinguished Member

Halil Ceylan

Halil Ceylan, director of the Program for Sustainable Pavement Engineering and Research (PROSPER), was recently elected as one of 10 people to the class of 2022 American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Distinguished Members.

The title is the highest honor that ASCE can bestow to civil engineers. Per ASCE, “a distinguished member is a person who has attained eminence in some branch of engineering or in the arts and sciences related thereto, including the fields of engineering education and construction.”

The Distinguished Member title is awarded to civil engineers who are either ASCE Members or Fellows. Ceylan, who is also a professor in the Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE) department, was elected to ASCE Fellow in April 2021.

“I am truly humbled and honored with this highly prestigious recognition by the ASCE Society Awards Committee and the ASCE Board of Direction and am very grateful for all the support and mentoring that I have received from my colleagues,” Ceylan said.

Ceylan added that he’s particularly delighted to receive the recognition during the CCEE’s 150th anniversary.

The 10 Distinguished Members elected this year—from among 150,000 plus ASCE members worldwide—will be formally inducted during a ceremony as part of ASCE’s Annual Convention later this fall. Per ASCE, not more than 12 ASCE Members or Fellows may be inducted each year.

In addition to being named an ASCE Fellow in April 2021, Ceylan also received ASCE’s James Laurie Prize last spring for significantly advancing transportation engineering with his career contributions in smart, sustainable, and resilient transportation infrastructure systems.