InTrans / Sep 01, 2021

Five InTrans staff and faculty affiliates earn Joel and Judy Cerwick awards

Five Institute for Transportation (InTrans) staff members or faculty affiliates earned awards named for Iowa State University Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE) alumnus Joel Cerwick.

Chris Rehmann, faculty affiliate and CCEE associate professor, was named to the Cerwick Faculty Professorship. InTrans staff and CCEE associate professors Alice Alipour, Behrouz Shafei, and Omar Smadi and InTrans faculty affiliate and CCEE assistant professor Kaoru Ikuma received the Cerwick Faculty Fellowship.

The awards were established in 2013 by Joel and Judy Cerwick to recognize and promote the excellence of the faculty in the CCEE department. The awards were established to acknowledge the role and influence former environmental engineering faculty played in Joel Cerwick’s life. The awards provide financial support to faculty who have made significant contributions in the fields of Environmental, Transportation, Structural, or Geotechnical Engineering. Joel Cerwick received his bachelor’s degree and master’s degree in Civil Engineering from Iowa State in the 1960s.