InTrans / May 13, 2019

InTrans faculty affiliates to be recognized with ISU awards

Sri Sritharan
Chuck Jahren

Institute for Transportation (InTrans) faculty affiliates Sri Sritharan and Charles Jahren will be among the 50 Iowa State faculty and staff members recognized with awards this year.

They all will be feted at an awards ceremony on Sept. 23.

Sritharan will be one of two faculty to receive the Outstanding Achievement in Research award. Sritharan is also the Wilkinson Professor of Interdisciplinary Engineering and a professor of civil, construction, and environmental engineering.

The award recognizes tenured faculty who have a national or international reputation for contributions in research and have influenced the research activities of students. Nominees have documented evidence of outstanding research and its impact, among other criteria, and were judged on the body of their work since their terminal degree.

Jahren, the W.A. Klinger Teaching Professor and a professor of construction engineering, will be recognized with the title of Morrill Professor, and will be one of two faculty to be recognized for this award this year.

The title is awarded to faculty members who have exhibited excellence in their teaching or outreach, and who have demonstrated outstanding performance in another area of faculty responsibility.

The nominees must hold the rank of professor and have at least five years on the Iowa State faculty. They retain the title for the remainder of their career at the university.

The full list of the award winners is available here.