InTrans / Dec 14, 2020

Shafei receives awards for graduate student and CCEE work

Bridge Engineering Center (BEC) Structural Engineer Behrouz Shafei received two awards in 2020 in recognition of the work he does as associate professor in Iowa State University’s Department of Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering (CCEE).

Shafei earned the Postdoctoral Mentoring Award and the CCEE Charles W. Schafer Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service.

The Postdoctoral Mentoring Award recognizes principal investigators’ (PIs’) excellence in their mentorship of postdoctoral scholars. It is meant to promote a collaborative research environment for postdoctoral scholars at Iowa State University, eventually leading to successful transitions to the next stage in their careers. PIs are nominated by current postdoctoral scholars or recent graduates. Two faculty members are selected annually for the award.

The Charles W. Schafer Award for Excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service is a CCEE department award used to promote excellence in teaching, research, and service by junior faculty members. Two awards are made per year to faculty members who hold an academic rank below that of professor. The CCEE Awards Committee reviews qualified faculty members and submits its recommendations to the department chair, who ultimately selects the recipients.

InTrans-affiliated CCEE faculty received both awards in 2019. InTrans Research Scientist Anuj Sharma and Center for Transportation Research and Education (CTRE) Director Omar Smadi won the awards in 2019.